Posted on / by The Trucking Alliance

Trucking Alliance Carriers Earn Top Industry Safety Awards in 2018

Two Trucking Alliance member carriers were recognized in 2018 for their commitment to greater safety and security for commercial truck drivers and the general public.

“ATA President’s Award”

Cargo Transporters, headquartered in Claremont, North Carolina, was presented the “President’s Award” by the American Trucking Associations, during the organization’s Management Conference & Exhibition in Austin, Texas. The award is the highest safety award available to motor carriers in the United States, based on a carrier’s safety record, training and programs.

Cargo Transporters provides truckload dry van freight services. It operates a fleet of tractors and trailers. The company also provides online services, such as shipment tracking, satellite based truck positioning, positioning updates, and document imaging, as well as facilitates access to proofs of delivery, invoices, and supporting paperwork through Internet.

John Pope, chairman of Cargo, is a member of the North Carolina Board of Transportation. He has served on the board of directors of the Truckload Carriers Association and the American Trucking Associations. Pope currently serves as a member of The Trucking Alliance Board of Directors. Cargo’s president, Dennis Dellinger, is a member of the Trucking Alliance Advisory Group and also holds leadership positions in the American Trucking Associations and the Truckload Carriers Association.

“Personnel Safety Award”

Earlier this year, Dupré Logistics, headquartered in Lafayette, Louisiana, received the “Personnel Safety Award” from the National Tank Truck Carriers Association (NTTC). The NTTC represents trucking companies that utilize tank trailers to transport petroleum, chemicals, and other hazardous commodities.

The Personnel Safety Award is the organization’s top honor for carriers in their class and spotlights a carrier’s outstanding safety record and commitment to personal injury reduction. Dupré drivers were ranked ‘best in class’ in this category, due to their lack of personnel injuries in the preceding year.

Reggie Dupré is CEO of the company, one he founded 38 years ago. He holds a bachelor degree in business management from UL-Lafayette and a Doctor of Medicine from LSU School of Medicine in New Orleans. Reggie has held many state and national industry leadership positions and is currently secretary/treasurer of the Trucking Alliance Board of Directors.

Al LaCombe, Vice President of Safety & Risk Management, accepted the award and thanked the NTTC for the association and its support of carriers that commit to safety. Al is a member of the Trucking Alliance Advisory Group.

Transportation companies that accept an invitation to affiliate with the Trucking Alliance are asked to incorporate safety practices and cultures that can reduce large truck crashes. These practices include a list of specific operating standards that exceed minimum federal requirements for motor carriers.